Let it happen……dont make any resolutions this new year eve !

I just spoke to a friend of mine today evening (31st Dec 2009) and asked him what he is up to this new year eve and he said ‘Nothing’, I am with family. I cannot imagine him without consuming alcohol on a new year’s eve. What about me….there was a time when I use to feel as if my life is wasted if I do not consume alcohol on a new year eve, and this new year’s eve I am also sitting dry. It does not take too much time for people to change. Rather…people can never change gradually. One day the change should take place. ‘I am trying to stop smoking’ is a big lie. ‘I did not smoke today’ or ‘I quit smoking’ is more genuine. The moment we  say ‘I am trying’ or ‘I will try my best’…it does not mean an all out attempt.

When I was ‘trying to stop’ smoking….the most painful aspect was not ‘quitting smoking’, but the restriction of ‘cannot smoke again’ which revolted the freedom fighter in me. So this new year ‘no resolutions’. Smoking is bad for health…and it can kill…still if you want to smoke …smoke…and at the same time have enough bank balance for hospitalization or have a good medical insurance which will pay for your hospital bills. The same holds good for drinking as well.

When I see the half hearted attempts by governments to stop smoking and drinking (Kerala is known for it), my blood boils. They do not prohibit the selling of tobacco…and at the same time campaign against smoking. They want the income from the taxes of these products…..let the citizens die…..we want the money….

” Smoking can stop you…if you do not stop smoking”.

” It has to happen…It should happen….It must happen….Let it happen”  either life or death 🙂

Leave a Reply

