Value of PMI’s offerings worth US$ 116 / year?

Today morning I swiped my credit card to pay the Project Management Institute US$ 119, for my next year’s membership. This I am doing for the fourth year in a row.  This makes me think about the value I am getting from PMI’s offerings, and this is the question asked by many of my project management workshop participants. Hence I presume that this post will either help or provocate some 🙂

First and foremost, let us discuss about the flagship certification program of PMI, the PMP (Project Management Professional). Till today, I have trained around 800 PMP aspirants. It will be better to analyze their motivation to go for these certifications and then to analyze what happened to them after the certifications.

New job postions demand it

These days, many of the advertisements for PM positions, asks for PMP or PRINCE2 certification as a desirable added qualification. This prompts many to go for the PMP certification. And indeed most of the successful PMP’s land up in a better job position either within their organizations or outside.

Migrating to a New country

I have come across participants with almost 15-20 years of experience, with significant project experience and knowledge attending my programs. When I asked them for their motivation to shoot for PMP certification, they responded by saying that It helps them (rather inevitable)  to get a project manager’s job in countries like USA and Canada. After becoming a PMP, they migrated. So I have to trust them 🙂

Insecurity about professional entropy

Cetain corporate cultures do not give proper emphasis on employee training. When the members of such organizations compare them with their counterparts in other geographies, where the emphasis of employee training is very high, they feel insecure and counter it by going for additional qualifications.

Getting ready for the next promotion

These are very proactive guys. They know that they have put in almost 4-5 years of service, and is time for getting into people management positions, and they dont want to fail. They attend these programs to equip them to face the challenges of project management, before becoming a full fledged project manager.

Just for the knowledge part of it

People do attend these programs, just to increase their knowledge or for getting an official endorsement for the knowledge they acquired through hands on experience.

Irrespective of their motivation to go for PMP certification, all of them have only  benefitted from it. Becuse of this fact, let us give full credit to the PMP credential from PMI. This helps individuals to equip themselves to do their project management work more professionally (there are lot of people who does excellent work without any certifications also).

The OPM3 standard

Organizational project management maturity model (OPM3) is a heavy weight framework for organizations to assess their project management capability levels and chart out an improvement path. This is heavy weight. The self assessment contains around 160 questions to be answered. That itself is disgusting. This is more tuned towards internal projects than for project companies who regularly executes projects for their clients. The whole framewok could have been compressed into PDCA – plan, Do, Check, Act at the intiation, planning, execution, monitoring and controlling and closing phases of projects, programs and portfolio management. I really doubt it’s usefulness for IT companies, than giving some more money to the consulting companies. 

The intention of this framework to link the organizational growth strategy with the project management strategy is noble, but the definition lacks user friendliness.

Other standards

PMI provides lot of other standards like standards for;

  • Program management
  • Earned value management
  • Scheduling etc

I am yet to see any real value from these products. Most of these things are covered in the Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK), and hence become slightly redundant.

Apart from these PM Network, I just dont see much value coming out of it, as most of the content is non IT related, and I am from an IT background. These can be of great help for non IT guys.

Next year PMBOK new version will be released. This itself will give me lot of value if I am abreast with what’s up? @ PMI. This is another driver for me to swipe my card again.

Overall I see PMI delivering lot of value, especially for those budding professionals and for organizations who really want to increase their project management competency, if their job / operation demands proficiency in conventional project management.

PMP, PMI and PMBOK are the registered trade marks of PMI 

The views expressed here are mine only.

5 thoughts on “Value of PMI’s offerings worth US$ 116 / year?

  1. I know that you have some question of PMP exam .
    Please send me at least 50 questions because I want pass this exam.

    Thanks

    Husain

  2. Nice post. I used to be checking continuously this weblog and I’m inspired! Extremely useful information specially the last phase 🙂 I maintain such information much. I was looking for this certain info for a very lengthy time. Thanks and best of luck.

  3. I’m impressed, I must say. Rarely do I encounter a blog that’s both
    educative and amusing, and let me tell you, you’ve hit the nail on the head. The problem is something which too few men and women are speaking intelligently about. Now i’m very
    happy I stumbled across this during my hunt for something concerning this.

Leave a Reply

